Mobile menu

Jargon Buster

Key Stages

The different stages of education that a child passes through:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage – age 0-5 (early years setting, nursery and Reception);
  • Key Stage One – age 5-7 (Years 1 and 2);
  • Key Stage Two – age 7-11(Years 3, 4, 5 and 6);
  • Key Stage Three – age 11-14 (Years 7, 8 and 9);
  • Key Stage Four – age 14-16 (Years 10 and 11);
  • Key Stage Five – age 16+ (Sixth form or college)


Someone who provides children, young people and parents with a single point of contact to help make sure the support they receive is co-ordinated. A keyworker could be provided directly by a local authority or local health organisation, a school or college, or from a voluntary or private sector body.






Go to the top of this page